The Inferno Maverick

I’m currently in the middle of writing a guide on nerPHing, which is really just what I call carrying on with the Nerf hobby in the Philippines, but I’m still organizing my thoughts. So, in the meantime, let me post the first fully modded gun I’ve worked on.  I make the distinction fully modded because the first gun I fiddled around with is my Barricade, but because I got intimidated by the wires, I stopped at taking off the nozzle-like barrel and disarming the trigger lock.  While you now can look into the guts of the Maverick, what I do like about that abortive mod is that the gun is at least 30% more quiet.  That nozzle was apparently the source of quite a bit of noise.

Anyway, back to this piece.  It started out as a steel coloured blaster, until I sprayed a bit of clear red on it.  Then the rest was history.  Drybrush work in copper followed, and then I tried to write “Inferno” in a flamesy like script on the slide.

On the internal side, I took out the ARs (air restrictors), did the “75 centavo” mod on the spring (yes, I put three 25-centavo coins in the blaster to compress the spring a little), and then cut and sanded down the pegs that stopped the barrel from dropping all the way.  Pretty standard, really.

I’m not too happy with it, but not bad for a first piece.  What do you think?

Leave a comment